.

Blog: Review of '2016: Obama's America'

Review of "2016: Obama's America."

I heard it was blatantly "anti-Obama" and "right wing propaganda" from a variety of sources but the always curious in my soul motivated me to go see it. At first, there were very few people in the (Krikorian) theater so I parked myself right in the front, in the middle, where no one else cares to sit. To my amazement, the theater filled up (it was only noon).

I did not expect the movie to be a "work of art" since it is a documentary. Although, for a documentary it is a pretty well done. One reviewer made cynical comments about D'Souza's comparing what he has in common with Obama (age, non-white, etc) which I interpreted as his attempt to demonstrate empathy. We can certainly understand others better when we identify the similarities we may have with them. There were many points made about Obama, that as a mother, elicited pity from my heart.

D'Souza looks to many sources to analyze Obama's behavior. Including one of my all time favorite professors; Shelby Steele. The explanations of Obama's quest to live his father's dream, which would rid the world of colonialism is troubling. I don't want to ruin your good time with too much detail but one thing I felt the movie was not, is propaganda. It's an analysis from behaviors, actions, history and even psychologists.

When the film was over, the audience applauded. Then as I walked from the theater I noticed no one was smiling. The message I found chilling must have touched many other people the same way.

Whether you lean left or right it's a movie I strongly suggest you see with an open mind. It's well worth the $10 and the couple of hours it takes.

Here's the official link if you want to read more before heading to the Krikorian.

http://2016themovie.com/

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Chris Ziegler September 05, 2012 at 05:08 PM
Holly, Thanks for the recommendation. I plan on seeing the movie. One thing that I don't understand is why are there so many conversations about politics that are, "he said, she said"? Can we respectfully discuss the actual policies that Obama has put in place/policies that Romney will propose and their impacts to Monrovia? For example; I'm not happy with the health care package (Aka Obama Care) as the citizenry have been completely isolated from the fact that they are the cause of the need for the policy - In order for America to be prosperous we needs workers to work and work hard at that, slothing around the workplace with a headache from untreated; hypertension, a bad back, alcoholism or depression (all considered to be highly treatable with lifestyle choices), collectively, impair our ability to compete globally. Look at our own Tom Adams: Tom, almost had to resign from the Council due to a bad hip (?), luckily, Tom was able to access health care and was restored to productivity - The Star-News had an article that claimed 60% of San Gabriel Valley residents have some sort of ailment that required ongoing medical care - can you imagine how that disadvantages whomever is stuck with that bill? And who wants to hire someone that regularly needs time from work to visit a doctor. Also, the more a person spends on (tax exempt) health care, the less money they have to spend in Old Town. Should I blame Obama for this mess or my fellow Americans?
mark h. September 10, 2012 at 07:19 PM
Your review is hardly unbiased - you are a hardcore Republican and routinely parrot RNC talking points. So instead of pretending to be a fair, unbiased critic - come on out and (unlike Mr. Ryan) speak some truth. The movie is an Obama basher. And your idea of an open mind is to adopt it's positions. Not so much, Holly.
Holly Hale September 10, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Guess again, Mark. There are no talking points cited. While I am a "hardcore fiscal conservative" my party affiliation is not listed. Perhaps you should go see the movie and figure it out for yourself. D'Souza does not bash Obama. The anti-Obama title was assigned by the mass media. Goodness man, even Michael Moore has made comments accordingly.
Jimmy Jazz September 12, 2012 at 04:41 PM
D'Souza is a terrorist sympathizer who has repeatedly admitted that he has more in common with the hardest-core fundamentalist Muslims than with his fellow Americans, and who blamed 9/11 on the liberal media. He doesn't have the credibility to post a negative restaurant review, much less criticize the President. Fortunately for him, Obama will be easily re-elected, and the money train will keep rolling as he peddles his discredited conspiracy theories to Fox News-watching shut-ins.
Holly Hale September 12, 2012 at 05:58 PM
Post your proof, please. It would be interesting to read. The movie certainly shows no clues of him sympathizing with terrorists.
Holly Hale September 12, 2012 at 06:36 PM
Additional info about D'Souza's qualifications to voice his findings (did you complain about Michael Moore's movies, too?): "He was a White House policy analyst in the Reagan administration and is a former fellow at Stanford University's Hoover Institution." I believe immigrants who embrace the American Dream are more objective about what is going on in our country (I hear a lot from the Chinese-Americans and Korean-Americans I teach). While I am a viewer of CNN I find the constant Fox bashing ridiculous. They are obviously more right leaning in their interpretation of events but other news outlets, (esp. MSNBC) are clearly left leaning. One vs. many.....and people constantly discredit them. And "Jimmy Jazz" I suspect you were quite vocal in your criticisms of other administrations while supporting the current one. Hence, D'Souza has a right to criticize anyone he pleases just as you and I do. And please do, post your proof D'Souza supports terrorists. It would be interesting for all Monrovians to read.
Holly Hale September 22, 2012 at 10:41 PM
The You Tube link for 2016 was removed. However, anyone wishing to view it for free can do so Sunday evening. Fox News will be airing it.
Margeaux Rox September 23, 2012 at 04:47 PM
Hi Ms. Hale! Here's a new link and I don't see it on Fox's line up for today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=mscvdioSb0w Even Michael Moore gave the producer a "pat on the back" for it. Imagine that!
Margeaux Rox September 23, 2012 at 04:49 PM
Here's another informational link from Forbes. http://www.forbes.com/sites/markhendrickson/2012/07/26/president-obamas-marxist-leninist-economics-fact-and-fiction/
Holly Hale September 27, 2012 at 05:47 PM
Hi Margeaux: Apparently the links for the movie were removed, as they were unauthorized. The rumor that the movie was going to appear on Fox News was just that, a rumor. I've seen some blurbs suggesting it was done purposely to keep folks from going to the theater. To date, it's done quite well at the box office. Here's a link to an article about the rumors: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/filmmakers-2016-obamas-america-fox-news-373478 Whether it's true or not, we'll probably never know. I didn't see Michael Moore's films back when, but I have to wonder if anyone jumped on the bandwagon about those as they have this movie. Even he said Romney will get elected and that was a mind-blower. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/30/michael-moore-mitt-romney_n_1843824.html He contends the Romney camp has raised more money for promotions hence, a win. That largely contributed to the win in 2008 as there were ads everywhere and new registered voters came out in scores for "Hope and Change." Thank you for your comments and we'll just have to see what unfolds on Nov. 6 and pray for our country.
Marg October 15, 2012 at 06:01 PM
Jimmy, You're not very bright if you think D'Souza is a terrorist sympathizer. Just the opposite is actually true. It looks like your candidate will not easily re-elected, esp after the BS pulled regarding Libya. You libs always think everybody with right leaning ideas watches Fox. Is that all you got? @mark h.: Your comments regarding the author's political ideology are not appropriate in this thread. She's right, there's no mention of any political opinions in the review, just commentary on the movie itself.
Marg October 15, 2012 at 06:03 PM
I went to see it after reading this review. It was scary. Dick Morris's new movie, "Hope and Change" is hitting cable soon. He was the biggie-big for the Libertarians and has changed to Rep. to support Romney because he believes Obama wants to destroy the US.
Jimmy Jazz October 16, 2012 at 11:39 PM
D'Souza wrote a book called The Enemy at Home: The Cultural Left and Its Responsibility for 9/11, in which he blamed the American Left for 9/11. His solution? We should make our culture more like that of the Islamic terrorists. Direct quote: " "American conservatives should join Muslims and others in condemning the global moral degeneracy that is produced by liberal values." He thinks child marriage and stonings are just "unfortunate" cultural issues. In short, his belief system lines up very nicely with the very terrorists we're trying to defeat. Oh, and he's also an adulterer who traded in his loyal wife for a younger model and brought his new girlfriend to a "Christian values conference". http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/reliable-source/post/love-etc-dinesh-dsouza-divorcing-wife-amid-new-relationship-with-young-woman/2012/10/16/b99233d4-17bf-11e2-9855-71f2b202721b_blog.html Just another right wing scumbag who thinks he's above the "morality" he tries to foist on others.
Marg November 04, 2012 at 06:57 PM
WATCH FOR FREE. http://butthurt.co/obama/2016/
Jimmy Jazz November 19, 2012 at 07:26 AM
So, Obama is the lawfully re-elected President of the United States and D'Souza is a disgraced adulterer who got fired from his job. How'd your little movie work out for you?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something